Our Chapter History

On November 18, 2002, an informational meeting was held at the home of Barbara Foxhall. Those attending were Leslie Kelso, Kathy Rhoades, Tina Melo, Lori Hessel, Angela Clarke, Stephanie Cocke, Mary Schuler, Jane Kochman, Cynthia Lokken and Sudha Subramani. The group decided to form a new chapter for women with daughters who live or attend school inside Loop 610 or Bellaire. Lana McDaniel, who started the Bayou Villages Chapter, agreed to be the Expansion Chapter Advisor.

On March 9, 2003, the group held a Formation Meeting at St. John the Divine. Approximately 124 Patronesses and Ticktockers attended. At this meeting, the name “Heart of Texas” was chosen. Michele Crabtree, National Council Expansion Chapter Development VP, attended as well as Linda Martens, National Council President.

On March 17, the National Council Board of Directors approved the Heart of Texas request to form as a chapter. The membership closed in July with 125 Patronesses and 136 Ticktockers. Founding Board Members include: Barbara Foxhall, Estelle Lozmack, Sharon Pyburn, Pamela Blakely, Anne Kirkland, Stephanie Cocke, Janice Kemp, Ruth Davis and Patricia Young.

On January 18, 2004, the Chapter was granted change of status from Prospective Chapter to Provisional Chapter.

On January 10, 2005, the Chapter was approved for advancement to Chartered Chapter Status.

On April 5, 2005, the National Charity League, Inc., Heart of Texas Chapter was incorporated in the state of Texas as a non-profit corporation and was granted 501(c)(3) status under the Internal Revenue Code.


Heart of Texas Chapter-wide meeting at the Houston Food Bank

Heart of Texas Chapter-wide meeting at the Houston Food Bank.

Past Presidents

Founding President Barbara Foxhall
2004-2005  Barbara Foxhall
2005-2006 Mary Schuler
2006-2007 Bonnie Clements
2007-2008 Pam Barksdale
2008-2009 Paige Erwin
2009-2010       Elizabeth Pringle Johnson
2010-2011 Alice Rohrman
2011-2012 Mara Buchholz
2012-2013 Amanda Hansen
2013-2014 Barbara Catechis
2014-2015 Keli Luce
2015-2016 Sherri Walsh
2016-2017 Debbie Hanna
2017-2018 Jennifer Rosenfeld